I should be sleeping

It’s 6:45 am and both of my babies are fast asleep. The littlest one has been fussing since 5 and I only just got her to sleep in the swing – something her brother never took to. I thought of laying back down and getting in another 30 minutes of much needed sleep, but instead I made a coffee and I’m enjoying the peaceful quiet of the morning.

My husband went back to work yesterday, but I’m not on my own with the kids quite yet. My parents are visiting and having them here has been both helpful and stressful. I needed them here when my son was born – my anxiety was so bad I was afraid to be alone with the baby. But it’s very different this time around. Now I just want things to be as calm as possible and I’m looking forward to getting into a bit of a routine.

I wouldn’t mind this bit of quiet time being part of my routine. Though I think my mornings with her are going to be pretty relaxed while her brothers at daycare.

Although I’m very tired, I’m also very happy. My baby girl is just the sweetest and I just feel so lucky that I get to be her mom. 

So yeah, I could be (should be) sleeping but instead I’m looking over at my sweet baby, drinking a perfect cup of coffee out of my favourite mug thinking about how lucky I am. 

Not a bad way to start the day.

Leave a Reply

