Daily Routine for my 22 Month Old

This week marks my first official week of maternity leave!  Wooohooooo!!  What’s most exciting about this is that I’m only 36 weeks along which means I (hopefully) have at least two or three weeks (I’m betting she’ll be early) to bask in this time because I will be hard pressed to find this kind of space once our little one comes along.

I’m really happy with how we’ve planned out daycare for our son.  He’s with me Mondays and Tuesdays, and then in a home daycare just down the street the rest of the week.  I have had moments where I’ve felt a twinge of guilt thinking, I’m home, he should be with me.  But the truth is I’m tired and I need to rest before this baby comes.

Which is exactly what I plan to do – without the guilt.

Daily Routine for my 22 Month Old

Yesterday (a Tuesday) was such a good day with my son.  We had a great morning, and even though he refused to nap (which btw  is really fucking annoying), he was still in a great mood and I really enjoyed his company.

But, I did find myself wondering what to do with him.  We couldn’t go outside because it was freezing rain and so we were stuck in the house all day long.  When I went to bed last night I started thinking about our routine and the things I’d like to do with him on the two days that I have him.  I think routine is super important for him, but for me as well.

So here’s the rough plan.

  • 7 am – wake up, change diaper, have milk, play
  • 8 am – breakfast, change clothes for the day, play
  • 9 am – get outside to walk the dog
  • 9:30am – watch a show, I clean up and prepare snack/lunch
  • 10 am – snack
  • 10:15 am – activity (get outside, go to the library, music and movement, toddler yoga, crafts or sensory play)
  • 11:30 am – lunch
  • 12 pm – play, books and quiet time
  • 1 pm – nap (please please nap!)
  • 2:30 pm – snack
  • 3 pm – outside time
  • 4 pm – dad’s home!  family time
  • 5 pm – dinner
  • 6 pm – bath and bedtime routine
  • 6:30 pm – bedtime

This routine actually makes me want to have him home with me for more than two days.  Which I just might do once I start getting the hang of having two kids.

But having said that, I’m also really looking forward to the time I get alone with my new baby.  I plan to nap a lot on those three days that we get and get in as many sweet baby snuggles as I can.  Oh yeah, and breastfeed a lot.  And do a lot of laundry.  And change a whole lot of poopy diapers.

But for now…I’m enjoying my three days to myself.  Today I got up with him, got him out the door by 9 am, napped from 10 – 11, watched two shows, did 30 minutes of housework, made pasta sauce and took a shower.  Not a bad day.  Though I do miss him…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

