Rough Day

Today was a rough day.  It was one of those days that made me think, I don’t want to do this parenting thing any more.  My son threw tantrum after tantrum.  Whining, crying, biting (yes, back to biting!), and I had a lot of ‘I don’t know what you want!!’ moments. Being pregnant makes it so much harder.

Today I wished I could be somewhere far away where I could just sleep and drink really good wine and not listen to melt down after melt down.  I just didn’t have it in me today.

But I found it in me, because that’s what we do.

Instead of snapping, I hugged him and kissed him and carried him far more than my hips would have liked.  When he woke up from a 30 minute nap that really should have been wayyy longer, I rocked him in his chair for 20 minutes even though it hurt my back. I got in the bath with him – giant belly and all. And when I put him to bed tonight I read him a few extra stories and told him a few extra times how much I loved him.

Because I know I’m not the only one who had it rough today.

And do you know the crazy thing, now that he’s asleep I miss him.  I feel like I got robbed. I only get two full days with him a week and I hate that one of those was spent barely holding it together.

Tomorrow will be better.  (Tomorrow better be better!)

 

Leave a Reply

