Today’s 100 Day Challenge: Meditate for 10 Minutes

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m going to do something to prepare for birth every day in the 100 days leading up to my due date.

And so it begins today.

I don’t want to plan out what I’m going to do, instead I’m going to do what I think my body/mind/spirit needs each day.

And here’s where I’m at today:  I didn’t sleep well last night so any kind of physical activity is really not in the cards for today (though I’m sure a walk would do me some good…but I did get to a yoga class over the weekend so yay me).   I’ve been pretty stressed about this upcoming trip so I think a little relaxation is what I need today.

And so I’ve decided today’s task will be to meditate for 10 minutes.

According to Headspace:

Meditation decreases the production of the stress hormones cortisol and adrenaline and gives the fetus a signal that it is safe and protected. This is essential as it sets the temperament of calm or anxiety in the baby. Meditation also produces endorphins, our pleasure hormone, which assists with preparation of childbirth due to its pain relieving effect. The effect actually improves with time, so the earlier you start practicing meditation during pregnancy, the greater your endorphin levels will be when it comes time to give birth.

I had a really great meditation habit for a while before my son was born, taking time to meditate every day all throughout my pregnancy.  And then when he came it all went to shit.  I was really inconsistent and as such, the habit died.

And so tonight, right after I put my son down to bed I’m going to sit on a pillow on the floor of my bedroom, set a timer for 10 minutes, and decrease those stress hormones!

 

One thought on “Today’s 100 Day Challenge: Meditate for 10 Minutes

Leave a Reply

