My Birth Fantasy

I went for a walk the other day and got to thinking about how I would like this birth to go.  When I was pregnant with my first I did a lot of thinking about the big day.  I imagined how it would go and wrote it all out.  So I thought I’d do the same with this one.

I imagine…one week before my due date…

Light cramping throughout the day with backache kicking in around 1 or 2 in the afternoon. I’d lose my mucus plug and make several trips to the bathroom.  Light labour would start around 5 and progress faster right after we put our son down to sleep (7 ish would be nice).  I imagine two hours of mild to moderate contractions, a long hot shower and lots of pacing around the house.  Intense labour would start around 9pm at which time my midwives would come around the house.  The tens machine and my husbands strong hands pushing my hips would make this phase bearable.  I would feel the urge to push at 10 and by 10:10 my little girl would be in my arms in the comfort of our living room.  She would latch easily and we’d be settled in our bed and asleep by 12.

HA.  Hey, I’m allowed a birth fantasy!

In all honestly, it’s not so far off from my first experience, only this time I hope to be home and not in the water.

With my first I felt backache at 11pm, intense labour started at 6am.  We arrived at the birth centre at 8:30 and my son was born at 10:30 am after 20 minutes of pushing.  And they say that the second is faster… so we’ll see! I didn’t experience my water breaking (I think it happened right before he was born into the bath), so I’m kind of hoping it breaks in the shower. He did not latch right away and we had a rough first week, so I’m hoping this little one is more receptive to the idea 🙂

Also, I really don’t think I’ll be fortunate enough to labour while my son is sleeping, though that would be ideal!  And if I feel anything like I did there is no way I’ll be sleeping only two hours after giving birth.  I was super wired after the experience, though I imagine I’ll be less shocked this time around.

As I was walking and thinking about all this, I also got to thinking about possible complications.  And I’ve decided to approach all that in the same way I did with my son – I will do what needs to be done.  I trust my midwives and if shit happens then, yeah, that would suck, but I’m not going to get upset if things don’t go to plan.  All that really matters is that we bring this little one into the world safely.

 

Leave a Reply

