Girl Names

There are so many great reasons to find out the sex of the baby.  For me, the bonding aspect was number one.  Now that I know she’s a she I can really start picturing her.  Imagining our life with this little girl.  Imagining her with her brother and the kind of relationship she’ll have with her dad, with me.  I can start thinking about the woman she’ll become and the things I want to do with her.  (I can take my son to a spa, but let’s be real, she’ll probably enjoy this more!)

But first things first: we can start really thinking about names.

I try not to think too much about just how big of a deal naming someone is.  Instead I’m just focusing on names we like, and more importantly, names we can agree on!

With our son it was pretty easy.  We actually had a different name picked out (Marcus), but then about a month before he was born we looked into some other names and fell in love with a different one.  We both liked it, knew people who had that name that we liked (very important to have a positive association!), and it just felt right.

Right now we’re just putting together a list of names that we both like.  Whether or not they feel right will come in time I think.  We may even have to wait and see what she looks like.

For now, here is our list:

  • Emily
  • Alison
  • Alice
  • Adalyn
  • Audrey
  • Bria
  • Sophia
  • Hanna
with middle names:
  • Elora
  • Rose
  • Olivia
  • Bryce

We’re still looking – I just spend a good 10 minutes looking over celebrity baby names thinking ‘wow, they had a baby’.  I feel so out of the loop!

But yeah, what do you think? 🙂

Leave a Reply

