Letter to my Unborn Son

When I was pregnant with my son I wrote him letters.  Here is one of them.

***

Hello little baby growing in my belly!  We are now a little over 19 weeks into our journey together. I’m feeling a lot of things but I have no doubt that you are feeling a lot more!  It’s so amazing to think how quickly you’re becoming a little human being.  My tummy is growing bigger and bigger each week.  I tried on my belt for work today and it didn’t fit me anymore!  I hope you are still very comfortable in there and getting all the nutrients you need to develop into a strong, healthy little baby.

We find out in one week if you are a boy or a girl.  I kind of like not knowing.  To me it doesn’t really matter although I have a feeling you might be a boy.  If you are we’re thinking of calling you Marcus.  If you are a girl, Isabel.  But we’re open.  It would also be nice to meet you first and see what name suits you.  I have a feeling you will have a strong personality and I can’t wait to get to know you.

We really can’t wait to meet you.  I get emotional just thinking about it.  I’m reading a lot of baby books right now and they talk about what to expect and how to prepare for the change.  We’re ready.  We are so ready for you to come into our lives.  Our home is going to be filled with so much love and joy.  And yes, you will cry.  Probably a lot.  And that’s OK.  I’m going to try my best to just be there for you and understand what it is that you are trying to communicate to me.  It probably won’t be easy for either one of us at first.  It’s not just an adjustment for me, but what an adjustment for you!!  I think at this point you’re somewhat aware of your surroundings.  You may not have a sense of self yet, but you sense your environment.  And that environment is going to change dramatically!  But your dad and I are going to do every thing we can to make your new environment as warm, comfortable, loving and safe as we possibly can.

I’m excited to see you next week at the ultra sound.  I love you so much already.

Leave a Reply

