Birth Affirmation: I Trust in my Ability to Give Birth

When I was pregnant with my son, as part of my preparation for birth I wrote out birth affirmations.  Now some people just repeat the affirmation, but I preferred to write out all my thoughts and feelings around the phrase so that I could really own it.

I went into the birth confident, calm, and I brought my son into the world just as I had imagined (I was lucky!).

I previously posted what I wrote for the affirmation ‘’I am not afraid‘ and below is what I wrote for ‘I Trust in my Ability to Give Birth”.

I Trust in my Ability to Give Birth

This is an interesting one.  My ability to give birth.  I haven’t ever really doubted that I won’t be able to do this.  I also feel, and this is very true, that I don’t have a choice.  I have no choice but to birth this baby.  

I do have a choice to do it naturally.  And I trust in my ability to give birth naturally.  To me this means riding each contraction as they come and trusting that my body knows what to do.  It’s about trusting the process as much as it is my own abilities.  I guess it comes down to trusting my ability to handle all that is thrown at me and being able to let go and surrender to the process.  It’s trusting that I will instinctively know what to do.  I will know what positions feel best for me and I will go inside myself and find the quiet strength that I will need.  I trust I will be able to tap into something greater than myself during this process.  That I will go to a place that I’ve never been before and find comfort and solace in that place.

I trust that my body will be strong, open, and that I will have the endurance to see it to the end without medical intervention.  A woman’s body was designed to give birth.  My body was designed to give birth.  But I also know that it’s more than my body.  I trust in my ability to remain calm and allow my body to move through the waves.  I trust that when the time comes I will be able to handle the pain.

I also know that if my confidence ever wavers, if I have a moment where I start to doubt my ability to do it,  I will have the support I need to help me through.  My husband will be with me the whole time and he believes in me. He trusts my ability to give birth naturally, with no complications.  My doula will be with me and she has seen hundreds of births.  She will give me the strength and confidence to venture into the unknown.  And my sister will be there, a quiet support making sure I have what I need and that I feel safe.

In the moment I may doubt my ability to go on.  I may doubt my ability to handle more pain.  But I will let go of that doubt and trust.  I can do this.  And when I do, it will change me in ways I never even imagined.  It will further instil in me the strength and confidence that I am fully and completely capable of doing anything that I put my mind to.

Leave a Reply

