Quiet Saturday Morning

It’s 7:30 on a Saturday morning and I find myself sitting in a quiet house.  My son is still sleeping, my husband’s downstairs, and even the dog has refrained from scratching himself for the time being.

I love mornings like this.

It’s hard adjusting to this whole parenthood thing, at least it has been for me.  I often wonder if other new parents feel the same way.  It’s an adjustment.  A big, amazing one.  Life gets busier, fuller, more complicated, yet somehow also simpler.  It’s a new normal.

Which is why I savor these quiet mornings.   They give me a chance to do the things I used to do. Like slowly start the day.  Have breakfast in silence.  Drink a coffee on the back deck.  Simple things that help me feel grounded and recharge after a long week.

Don’t get me wrong, I can do this all when my son is up.  And I do try to take time for myself.  But when my son is up, I want to be with him.  If I hear him I don’t want to be up in my room alone, I want to be where he is.

He’s been so happy and so chatty these days and so much fun. Thinking about him makes me smile and anticipate the day we get to spend together.

But he can sleep just a little while yet.   I’m kind of enjoying this quiet moment.

 

Leave a Reply

