Little Update

I posted a little while ago that my husband was considering going back to work.  I was freaking out a little because I wasn’t sure if I could do the newborn phase again on my own.

Well, good news, he’s decided to stay home for a little while longer.

This is a huge relief to me.

We talked about it and he just felt like he wasn’t doing enough for himself.  Which I totally get!  So he’s now bringing our son to the gym with him three times a week (they have child minding) and making more of an effort to do stuff.  Get out.  Talk to people. Do adult things.

It can be hard to be home.  It’s one of those things that, big picture it’s a really wonderful, important thing.  But day to day can be pretty repetitive, and not in a fun adult way.

I am so fortunate to live in Canada where I was able to take a full year of maternity leaver and I was so grateful for that time I got with my son.  But some days were really hard.  I didn’t have a strong community and it’s easy to feel isolated and cooped up.  That’s why playgroups, libraries, and friends are so important.

Having my husband around, at least for the first three months (until my hormones level out, which is what happened with my son – I actually felt a shift, like a weight had been lifted and I could breathe again) … it’s going to be so wonderful.

I’m so excited to meet this little person.  To see them and hold them for the first time.  I’m so excited for the newborn baby cuddles.  I’m so excited to get to witness another person grow and become whoever they are meant to be.

I’m so happy that we’re growing our little family.  And I’m so happy to be at a place where I can embrace whatever will come – with both the birth and the postpartum phase.  I’m feeling super optimistic that everything is going to be OK.  That I am going to be OK.

2 thoughts on “Little Update

    1. Oh that’s so awesome! My husband’s lucky in that his sister is on mat leave right now too, so he tries to get out to see her once a week. Super important to talk to other adults!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

