Eating for Two

My pregnancy diet is pretty out of control these days.  I want to eat everything, and I do.  Yesterday, for example, I ate:

  • 2 cinnamon eggos with blueberries and strawberries, and syrup of course
  • a glass of orange juice
  • a boiled egg
  • a granola bar
  • 2 slices of watermelon
  • a handful of blueberries
  • a bowl of pasta with veggies
  • 4 – yes 4 – pieces of pizza, and not small pieces or thin crust either
  • a bowl of beef stew
  • another granola bar
  • a yogurt
  • half a bag of snapea crisps
  • 3 apricots

OUT OF CONTROL!!

I’m not super concerned about gaining weight during this pregnancy.  I mentioned before that I was pretty far below my ‘happy’ weight before I got pregnant, so I could use the extra pounds.  I also dropped the weight very quickly after my first, so I’m not worried there (though I’m hoping I don’t lose the weight because of the same reasons).

But I do want to feel healthy, and I did not feel healthy yesterday.

I don’t think I (or any pregnant woman) needs to eat for two – though apparently I have been.  I think it’s more important that I listen to by body, eat when I’m actually hungry, stop eating when I’m full (I was full after two pieces of pizza yesterday), and most of all, make sure I’m getting the nutrients I (and my baby) need (more milk, more greens).

I find the day after a bad day of either not eating well, or not moving enough I’m most motivated to make changes.

So today is the day, my friends, when I make some changes!

It’s 9:30am right now and I got up at 7:30.  So far I’ve had a bowl of Fibre One cereal, a glass of orange juice, a bowl of oatmeal, and half a banana.  I’m tempted to get a breakfast sandwich (egg, tomato and bacon on an english muffin).  I will probably get it.

What can I say? I like breakfast foods.

For snack I have with me apple and orange slices and a granola bar.  For lunch I plan to have a veggie wrap and a cup of soup.  I’ll probably get a bagel for afternoon snack.  And then dinner – something with meat and veggies and then maybe some popcorn and fruit for snack.

And water.  Must drink more water.  It still makes me a bit nauseous, which sucks, but I really need to just force it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

