Life With a 16 Month Old

 

My little guy is just over 16 months.  It’s so crazy to think that a year ago he was only 4 months old.

Time does a funny thing when you have kids.  A year pre-kids is nothing.  After 30 not really much changes year to year.  Yes, there are new vacations, new jobs, weddings to attend, but there are no real milestones that create monumental shifts in your existence.

Having kids, I’ve found, does this.

Our lives are completely different now that we have our son (as to be expected) and things continue to shift as he gets older and more independent.

He’s so cool right now.  This is just such a fun age.  For one, he’s consistently sleeping through the night which is huge!  He’s been doing this for about 6 months now and it’s so nice to just not worry.  He’s down between 6:30 and 7 and up between 6 and 7, sometimes even 8 or 9!

And – he’s napping on his own!!  This is a big one for my husband who’s home with him now.  As I’ve mentioned before, he would only nap on me for the entire year that I was home with him.  Some days I loved it.  Some days I dreaded it.

He’s a great eater.  A little too great at times.  He will shovel food in like no one’s business.  Especially pasta.  Lasagna is his favourite (mine too!).  He still makes a giant mess, but we’re working getting him to use utensils and keeping his food on the plate, and not on the floor.

He’s not talking yet but oh man is he vocal!!  He yells an awful lot, especially when things excite him – like the microwave going off, or the kettle boiling.  He’ll stop what he’s doing, point his fingers in the air and yell.  He’ll then yell ‘DAAAAAD!!!!’.  It’s pretty much the cutest thing ever.

And he’s still saying dad an awful lot.  He’s also saying mom more than he used too, so I’m happy about that.

He also says “ADUCT!” (duck) and “DUUUG!” (dog).  The caps are for a reason.  He doesn’t just say things, he yells them.

So yes, the personality is coming out and I love it so much.  He loves to dance and laugh and be outside exploring.  Once of his favourite things to do right now is to pick up a handful of dirt out of the garden and walk over to you and smush it into your leg.  Not sure why this is interesting to him.  It’s not my favourite game.

We only just stopped nursing two days ago, but more about that in another post.

All in all, life with a 16 month old is pretty amazing.  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think, ‘I’m so lucky’.  Because I am.  I am so lucky and blessed to be his mom. In the short amount of time that he’s been alive, he’s grown and changed so much, and seeing how healthy and happy he is fills me with so much joy.

God, I love that kid so much.

2 thoughts on “Life With a 16 Month Old

Leave a Reply

