Pregnancy Progress Report: Week 8

Well, this pregnancy thing is really hitting high gear now.  I’m actually starting to feel pregnant.  Not quite look pregnant yet, but I’m definitely showing more with this one than I was with my first.

In my first update I mentioned that I started off at 136 lbs.  Well, that was before I got the stomach bug.  When I was weighed at the doctor a few weeks ago I actually was down to 132.  Like I mentioned before, I’m not keeping track of my weight week by week, but I am curious to see how much I gain overall.  With my first I only gained 25 lbs, but honestly I’m expecting it to be much more this time around.  Mamma is hungry! (And lazy!!).

8 Week Update

Workouts: Oh so lazy!!  I don’t think I did any yoga this week.  I tried to get out for walks but I’ve just been feeling so shitty.

Symptoms: The dreaded morning sickness continues.  The only thing that seems to help a little bit is to just keep eating all day long.  I’m talking three breakfasts and all of the snacks before lunch.  Also this week I think my hormones have kicked it up a notch because I am super emotional!  I cried last night because my husband wouldn’t come to bed (in my defence, he hasn’t slept in the same bed with me in about two months and I feel like it’s starting to negatively affect our relationship..but that’s a whole other post.)

Food Aversions: Coffee is still out. And water makes me feel queazy, which is really unfortunate.  I’m happy to report that I’m now able to stomach cake. Did I mention how much weight I anticipate gaining?

Food Cravings: Fruit is still pretty amazing.  Especially grapefruit and blueberries.   And all of the breakfasts that involve egg, bacon, cheese and bagels.

Sleep: I feel like I could sleep all day if given the opportunity.  Doesn’t help that I’m up every 2 hours needing to pee and my son has been crying out at 5am.

Miss Anything?  Coffee.  And this week I missed wine.  Wine is always nice when you’re feeling extra emotional (though more than two glasses is very dangerous when in this state!).  I also miss having energy.

What I’m Reading: No baby things.  I’m re-reading the Glass Castle.

Fun and/or Interesting Things from the Week: It was a big week –  we had our first ultrasound!!  It’s so cool to see the little peanut on the screen and see their heartbeat.  I also booked my first midwife appointment so that’ll be coming up in early July.

Leave a Reply

