Home Birth or Birth Centre?

I know it’s early days, but I’ve already started to think about where I want to give birth.

Before I became pregnant with my son I always assumed I’d give birth at a hospital.  Where there are doctors and drugs and nurses to help.

But the more I looked into my options, the more open I was to considering going elsewhere.

I’m very lucky to not only live in a city that has a birth centre, but I also happen to live a 5 minute drive from it.  I had heard a lot about it and when I checked out their website I had this very strong feeling that this was the place that I was going to give birth.  I thought about it and talked to one of the midwives (I didn’t like her very much), who actually tried to convince me to have a home birth. She said that the birth centre is not much different from a home birth and if I’m open to that, I ought to be open to giving birth at home.

But the idea of giving birth at home just didn’t sit well with me.

Long story short, I ended up giving birth at the birth centre and it was a really amazing experience.  I got there at 8:30 am, gave birth at 10:30 am, and was home by 3pm.

So a part of me thinks, obviously I’ll go this route again.  The bath was amazing (I got in and didn’t want to get out meaning I had a spontaneous water birth).  The hanging slings were so much help during the pushing stage.  The bed was big and comfy and the overall atmosphere was really lovely.

I can really picture going there again.

The only thing is my son.  I think we’d probably just bring him with us. Or maybe get my sister or in-laws to watch him (that would probably make more sense haha).

But then I think, if I can just stay home we then don’t have to worry.  It could just be a whole lot less complicated.

This is how I’d kind of imagine a home birth:

I go into labour.  Do my thing.  Walk up and down the hallway.  Lean over chairs and bannisters.  Breathe.  Relax.  Take a shower.  Have a bite to eat.  I probably wouldn’t take a bath cause our bath sucks and I did get in our bath first time and I wanted out right away.  I needed to be leaning over things.  I’d just labour at home then we’d call the midwife.  She’d come over, get everything set up (they give you a bag with all kinds of stuff in preparation).  I’d go upstairs and have the baby in our bedroom.  Easy peasy.

Now a lot of people get a bit squeamish about the idea of a home birth, and I used to too!  I thought there would be a lot of blood and that it would just get really messy, but honestly, for me, it wasn’t.  I mean, yes, there’s some blood, but it’s not crazy.

Well, I’ve got a lot of time to noodle on this, so we’ll see.  My intuition is leaning towards birth centre, but when I was 6 weeks along with my son I thought I’d be at a hospital.  So who knows.

Leave a Reply

