Rules for Touching the Pregnant Belly

I know touching the pregnant belly is point of contention for a lot of women, but not for me.  I actually encourage it.  I just think it’s the coolest thing, especially if you can feel a kick!

However, I’m not cool with just anyone touching me at any time in any old way.  I do have some rules.  Such as:

  1. No touchy until the belly is big.  It is not appropriate to touch a 5 week belly.  I’m not even sure I’d be comfortable with someone touching my 12 week belly.  Maybe at 25 weeks.  Or 30. Definitely not until it’s very obvious that there’s a baby in there.
  2. If I don’t know you,  don’t touch me.
  3. Don’t linger.  If you’re going to touch the sacred belly, don’t be weird.
  4. Speaking of weird…I work with some weird people who I would not like touching me.  So if you’re weird, or we don’t have some kind of positive affinity to one another, please keep your hands to yourself.
  5. Always ask.  As much as I love to share myself, I also get in moods where I just don’t want to be touched.  Please respect this.

I just think a pregnant belly is one of the most beautiful, amazing things and I can’t wait to have one of my own again soon!  I’m going to be rubbing my belly all day long!

Leave a Reply

