Processing

I’m still processing this whole pregnancy thing.  I suppose I will for a little while longer, I did after all only find out two days ago.

I remember with my first it didn’t really hit me until weeks in.  I was probably about 8 weeks along and I was doing a prenatal yoga routine at home.  I put my hands on my stomach (as instructed) and was told to connect to my baby.

I remember thinking: my baby.

And then the tears just started streaming.

I felt very connected all throughout my first pregnancy.  I did a lot of self care and I sat quietly a lot thinking about the baby growing in my belly.  I was very zen and I have to say, despite some annoying symptoms, it was a really wonderful pregnancy.

I hope to take the time to do that with this one too.

Overall, I really do hope that I can be present with this baby, both in and out of the womb.  I know a lot of people worry about how their first born will feel, but, and maybe this is because I am a second born child myself, I want my newborn to get the love and attention that my little guy did.  I want to try not to compare too much and take it all in as a new journey.

Now obviously there will be challenges.  There will be two and I want to continue to be attentive to my first born (obviously).  And you know what, I think my first could actually help to keep me grounded.  Perhaps less anxious.

Good thing is I don’t feel anxious now.  So that’s something.  I’m not scared.  At least not today.

But that might just be because it hasn’t sunk in yet.  Maybe I should do that yoga video 🙂  Or maybe I’ll wait until I’m a little further along…

2 thoughts on “Processing

  1. Congratulations! Finding out you’re pregnant is so surreal, even if you’ve been trying. It always takes me some time to adjust my thinking and process that I am growing a tiny being. 🙂 Take care of yourself! XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

