How Soon to Tell People You’re Pregnant

I told my husband the second I found out I was pregnant.  Like, came downstairs with the pee stick in hand.  A friend of mine also found out recently and she’s waiting till Father’s day to tell her husband.  There’s no way I would be able to keep that to myself for that long!!

In fact, I’ve already started telling people.  I don’t know what’s wrong with me!! I just can’t keep it in!  So far I’ve told my best friend, my work best friend, and my brother.  I’ll probably tell my sister today.

And I’m only four weeks along.

First time around I waited.  I guess I was afraid to jinx it or something.

This time I figure, if things don’t go as planned then you know what, I want people close to me to know.  I would want support.  I would want to talk about it.

But mostly I’m just excited and I want to share our happy news.  I had already told a bunch of people we were trying (also something I didn’t do first time around), so why keep them in the dark?

I do plan to keep my lips sealed from now on though.  I’ll probably tell my parents around week 8 and my work around week 10 or so.  And then the world at 12 weeks.

But you know, I might even tell my boss earlier than 10 weeks.  He’s cool and a friend of mine and honestly the fatigue is so intense in the first trimester that I’d like to work from home a little more and have that conversation with my boss to see if that would be possible.

I had a different boss first time and when I told him (I was 12 weeks) he asked me how long I had known for.  Super awkward and weird question.

I know my boss now won’t be weird about it.

How long did you wait to tell people?

2 thoughts on “How Soon to Tell People You’re Pregnant

  1. This last December I found out I was pregnant. I told me husband, one of my children, a few people at my job and one of my sisters. I was about a month when I found out. I was iffy about how I felt about it. After about a week, I began to feel some excitement over it and I started talking to my husband about names and such. Yes, way soon, I know, but with each day, my excitement grew. I miscarried at about 6 weeks and it was the hardest thing for me because I had started to look forward to a new baby. I was always excited when I would find out I was pregnant and normally didn’t wait the recommended amount of time. You do what you feel comfortable doing with your happy news. Good luck 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh I’m sorry to hear 😦 Yah, that’s a tough one. I’m still telling myself ‘if it sticks’ just so I don’t get too caught up too soon. You just never know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

