Going Into Labour While Sick

I was sick with a terrible cold the week that I went into labour.  I had a horrible cough that would just not go away and I felt really run down.

I was really worried that I would go into labour while sick.

And then I did.

And you know what, it wasn’t a big deal.  It was actually crazy how all of my symptoms seemed to just disappear.

That is, until the day after I gave birth.

I felt a lot of things after the birth – shaky, sore, scared to look down there, exhilarated, exhausted, and for the most part pretty good.

Except my cough came back with a vengeance.

I’d say that second to the hemorrhoids (oh dear god that was awful) the cough was one of the worst parts of my recovery.

Every time I coughed I felt like my body was going to expel everything out of me.  Sorry, but it’s true.  I tried to suppress a cough and it would just build and build and build until I erupted in a coughing fit.  Followed shortly thereafter by a crying fit.

It was so painful.

But like all colds, it did eventually go away.  And I actually didn’t get sick for some time after that.

It really is quite amazing what happens when you go into labour.  It’s like I forget about all my discomforts and my focus was solely on each contraction sweeping over me.

I was lucky and had a beautiful birth experience, but more about that another day.

Leave a Reply

