Letter to My Baby After the First Ultrasound

August 26, 2014
13 Weeks Today

I saw you for the first time yesterday. I know you’re in there because I feel the changes happening in my body, but to actually see you was pretty amazing. You are so beautiful. And so amazing. I can’t help but believe in something greater than you and I when I see what has happened over the last three months. In this short amount of time you have grown so much. At 6.9 cm long you have little fingers and arms that move around. We could see your little heart beating at 159 beats per minute. I know you’re working hard in there! I was and still am amazed by your spine. Each and every bone forming just as it should. How do you know to do this!? It’s not me. I am just your loving carrier and I promise that I will do everything in my power to create a safe and peaceful home for you for the next 6 months. That is, until you are ready to come out and live out loud in a world you will call your own. I am so fascinated with you and wish I could have watched you for longer. You were moving around so much and in the picture we have you brought your hand up to your face. I imagine you will do this out of the womb as well! You are already learning so much. How to move. How to get comfortable, I’m sure. And I do hope you are comfortable in there. It looked a little squished. But don’t worry; you’ll have plenty of room to move around. First to flail your arms and legs. Then to kick. Then to crawl and walk. Run and explore. You will travel and see so much. All from your own perspective. And I will be right there to support and encourage you to GO! DO THINGS! And live your life the way that you want to. All I ask is that you be kind, loving, generous and above all else, careful. I love you so much already and I can’t wait to meet you.

3 thoughts on “Letter to My Baby After the First Ultrasound

Leave a Reply

