My 14 Month Old is No Longer Sleeping Through the Night

My husband never hears the baby cry at night.  I don’t think he chooses not to, I think he legitimately just doesn’t hear him.

It makes me absolutly crazy.  I mean, how can you not hear all that noise!?  He’s not even really crying, he’s yelling.  And jumping.  And whimpering.

That awful bug that hit our family really fucked up my son’s sleep.  Which has, in turn, fucked up my sleep.  And, as the universe would have it, I now have a cold.

But that’s beside the point.

The point is my 14 month old son is no longer sleeping through the night.  It’s super fun times.

So because my husband is apparently unconscious in his sleep, it is up to me to go in and comfort our son.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to.  I know, that sounds very passive aggressive (a new little flavour which keeps spicing up our marriage these days), but I really am.  If he’s crying I want him to know that I’m here for him.  And I love the baby cuddles. What I don’t love is not being able to put him back down without him losing his shit.

Which is the case more often than not.

I usually find I’m actually better off not going in and just letting him figure it out on his own.  But because he’s still not 100% I want to be there to comfort him.  And make sure he hasn’t been sick.

So yeah, last night I was in with him from 1:45-2:30 and then listened to him fuss on and off until 3 am.

Needless to say we are all very tired and cranky today.  Some of us more than others.

Leave a Reply

