Mom Guilt

There are a lot of things I’ve done over the 14 months (well, plus 9 while pregnant) that I don’t feel guilty for.  These things include:

  • Having a glass of wine while pregnant.  I think I had three over the course of my pregnancy.
  • Taking two weeks sick leave before my due date.  He was a week early so I really only got a week.  And I was actually sick with a terrible cold.
  • Cosleeping.  I would do it again.
  • Leaving the baby alone to play.  I do this still.  He spends a lot of time playing alone while I do my thing.
  • Letting him cry it out at 6 months.  More about this in a future post.
  • Letting him nap on me for a year.  I didn’t feel guilt but I did find this incredibly frustrating some days.
  • Going back to work.  I believe being back at work makes me a better mom.  More about this later too.

There are some things I do feel guilty about, though I wish I wouldn’t.  They are:

  • Talking/writing about the hard time I had.  I feel bad for not focusing on the amazing and wonderful things, but I also need a way to come to terms with everything, especially if we’re going to have a second.  Which is really why I stated this blog.
  • That my 14 month old isn’t talking.  My friends baby, who is 2 weeks older, says all kinds of words on demand.  I know he’ll do this when he’s ready but I can’t help feeling that there’s something we’re not doing.
  • Not putting him in daycare.  I know, this is crazy.  My husband is home with him while I work and it’s amazing, but I feel sometimes that he’s missing out on some important socialization that help him do things, like talk.

I try not to get caught up in what we should/shouldn’t be doing and just enjoy him.  He’s really so amazing right now and healthy and happy so we must be doing something right.

Leave a Reply

