Should I Eat My Placenta?

Now that we’re officially trying to have another baby (eeeek!), I thought it might be a good idea to find out when I’m ovulating.

This isn’t something I did the first time around.  We just had a lot of sex.  And it happened pretty quickly – I think three cycles.

But for some reason this time I feel the need to know.  I guess it’s because I actually want this to happen sooner rather than later.

So I googled ‘ovulation calculator’ filled in my info and found out that this week is a good week to get it on.  (bowchickabow-wow)

I then clicked around the site because hey!  they have a getting pregnant tab on the left and hey! I’M trying to get pregnant!  So I clicked and this box appeared:

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 12.23.34 PM

OK how on earth is ‘Should I Eat My Placenta?’ a pregnancy essential!!??

Obviously I clicked and the first sentence reads:

“Your placenta: You could dry it and put it in pills. You could stir-fry it with onions. You could even eat it raw in the delivery room.”

Oh these guys are funny.  I think.  I don’t even know.

Oooh but I read on and they say that it can lower your chances of postpartum depression and insomnia.  Reeeeaaallly?  Hmmmm.  Intriguing.

The downside is it’s kind of disgusting (and risky and maybe not even that beneficial).  After I gave birth to my son my midwife asked me if I wanted to see the placenta.  I was like, uhhh no.  I didn’t even want to see it, not sure I’d be able to eat it.

But stir-fried with onions you say?

Leave a Reply

